International Studies & Programs

Home > Programs > Ubuntu Dialogues

Ubuntu Dialogues Virtual Student Dialogues

The student dialogues are conceived around facilitated virtual conversations among American students from underrepresented minority backgrounds and South Africa students from historically disadvantaged demographic groups. The dialogues focus on contemporary issues facing young people across the Atlantic. They provide participants opportunities to rethink national, racial, linguistic, and other boundaries and differences; to foster cross-cultural understanding; and to promote the resolution of real and imagined differences through dialogue. The dialogues comprise weekly 90-minute sessions scheduled for four consecutive weeks in October, and they involve 10 MSU and 10 Stellenbosch University students per year.


2021-22 Cohort

We are pleased to invite applications for participation in a five-part series of Ubuntu Virtual Student Dialogues. The Virtual Student Dialogues offer a much-needed forum for connecting students at U.S. and South African higher education institutions and for cultivating cross-cultural understanding on contemporary and critical issues confronting young people in today’s world!

Dialogue Schedule:
Time: 9:00 – 11:00 am EST (1:00 – 3:00 pm GMT/UTC and 3:00 – 5:00 pm GMT+2)
Dates: October 5, October 12, October 19, October 26, and November 02, 2022.

Click link below to see the Call for Participants.
Call for Participants

Contact:
Dr. Upenyu Majee, MSU
Dr. Marietjie Oelofsen
, Stellenbosch

 

2021 Cohort

We are pleased to invite applications for participation in a four-part series of Ubuntu Virtual Student Dialogues. Designed to connect students at African and U.S. higher education institutions, the dialogue sessions offer a much-needed forum for cultivating cross-cultural understanding on contemporary and critical issues confronting young people across the Atlantic.

Dialogue Schedule:

Time: 9:00 – 10:30 am EST (1:00 – 2:30 pm GMT/UTC and 3:00 – 4:30 pm GMT+2)
Dates: May 18, May 25, June 01, and June 08, 2021

Dialogue topics include, but are not limited to:

  1. The history and legacies of and responses to systemic racism
  2. The meanings of ubuntu and Pan-Africanism as concepts and as practice
  3. Decolonization and transformation of knowledge production and institutions
  4. Africa and America as ideas, places, identities and subjects of study

Find out more:

Call for Participants

Contact:

Dr. Upenyu Majee, MSU
Dr. Marietjie Oelofsen
, Stellenbosch


2020 Cohort

Participants

Stellenbosch University

  • Potgierter Loandrie
  • Weppelman Kaylon
  • Botozo Lwandiso
  • Mahlobo Zama
  • Mbatyoti Nombasa
  • Mabapa Lesego
  • Jeza Sabelo
  • Palmer Annelize
  • Magerman Anri
  • Ndamandama Masixole

Michigan State University

  • Mavis Asante
  • Ajamu Dillahunt
  • Javohn Dyer-Smith
  • Kwabena Edusei
  • Justice Fowler
  • Remi Gonety
  • Mamie Hai
  • Halla Jones
  • Natalie Kagole
  • Carlton Mamo

Dialogue Topics

  1. Black Lives Matter
  2. Flags, Statues, and National Symbols
  3. Gender-based Violence
  4. The COVID-19 Pandemic

2019 Cohort

Participants

Stellenbosch University

  • Bryan U. Kauma
  • Beaurel Visser
  • Curtley Solomons
  • Lerato Machetela
  • Leya Mgebisa
  • Mofihli Teleki
  • Nosipiwo Matiwane
  • Precious Simba
  • Tebogo Radebe
  • Zimkitha Ludongo

Michigan State University

  • Grant Keyvanmanesh
  • Robert Logan
  • Benedict Nsenga
  • Najya Zaman
  • Krubel Habteyes
  • Michelle Ratchford
  • Lillian Young
  • Abner Barbosa
  • Joseph Brown-Nikebia

Dialogue Topics

  1. Introductions and Exploration of Ubuntu as a Concept and as Lived Experience
  2. Racial Discrimination and Reparations in South Africa and the U.S.
  3. Black and Minority Student Experiences at South African and U.S. University Campuses
  4. Reflections on Ubuntu and Identity, and Post-dialogue Options

Photo Gallery