International Studies & Programs

Home > Programs > Awards


Nnamdi Azikiwe Award for African Students

The award honors former Nigerian President Nnamdi Azikiwe, a scholar and politician, who led Nigeria as its first civilian president and who invited MSU faculty to join him and other Nigerians to build a land-grant model university in Eastern Nigeria. This became the University of Nigeria at Nsukka, had a distinguished educational history, and was the beginnings of the MSU African Studies faculty, now approximately 100 scholars spanning many colleges and departments. The award provides support for African students who otherwise have minimal sources for support as most funds are available for citizens and permanent residents of the USA.

Congratulations to Yetunde Alabede, graduate student in the College of Education, and Edith Gondwe, graduate student in the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife, for winning the Nnamdi Azikiwe Fellowship in 2022

Previous winners

2021 - Ronald Asiimwe

2020 - Ebenezer Ansah

The Roger Meece Awards

The Roger Meece Paper Prize is awarded to graduate and undergraduate students who submit papers or projects focusing on issues related to the study of African nations and peoples - including governance, health, society, gender, science, development, education, environment, communication, and language.

Congratulations to graduate students, Rabin Kc, Department of Crops, Soil and Microbial Sciences, and Mariama Sow, Department of Economics, for winning respectively first and second place 2021 Meece Paper Prizes.

Previous winners

2020 - Caitlin Baker, Lucinda Krieger, Jocelyn Polanek, and Triniti Watson.

Fulbright Scholars

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government, designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the U.S. and the people of other countries. 

Congratulations to the 2021 winners!

FLAS Awardees

Foreign Language and Area Studies (FLAS) Fellowships are awarded to students enrolled in a program that combines the study of a modern foreign language with advanced training in international development studies or in the international development aspects of professional or other fields of study.

Please visit the Financial Support & Applications page to apply.

Congratulations to the 2020 winners!